RSS

The Heart(h) of the Home

19 Apr

To me, the hearth of the home is the heart of the home. If I had to come up with one picture or symbol of the thing that most drives me, inspires me, and makes me who I am, it would be the hearth. But it goes much deeper than just the concept of a fireplace so to speak. It is more about what the hearth has come to symbolize over the ages. It is the feelings of caring, nurturing, contentment, and closeness of family. It is also about the activities that give heart to a home. It is about the domestic arts and the keeper of the home. Until modern times, it was almost the sole responsibility of the woman to make a house a home. It is a connection over the ages with these women in the common goal of caring for and nurturing those we love.

We all have many facets to our personalities and I am no exception. On the surface, it hardly makes sense that a petite, freckled, 40-something, self-proclaimed hippie/head banger would so highly idealize these notions and concepts. But these ideals have truly made me who I am. I am a nurturer and I love to make people happy and I want them to feel well-cared for. Some of my greatest passions and interests are cooking, gardening, sewing, and history (specifically of women and the domestic arts). These are all things that evoke the concept of a hearth. And this is the main theme that spills over into my business and it is the driving force that makes me create what I do. It is why I love primitives and antiques and I love to create them because they evoke feelings of warmth and contentment and add beauty to the home. I want to create items that will give others that same sense of simple pleasure and happiness. A glimpse of the peace of yesterday in our busy fast-paced world.

And now I’d like to offer a recipe from my hearth to yours. It is a more modern recipe that is super fast and easy but I can promise you with one taste of this you will feel nurtured and cared for:)

PEANUT BUTTER PIE

1 graham cracker crust (home-made or purchased, regular 9-inch size)

FILLING:

1 – 8 oz. package cream cheese, softened

¾ c. powdered sugar

½ c. peanut butter

3 T. milk

2 c. cool whip or equivalent topping

With electric mixer blend cream cheese, sugar, peanut butter, and milk until smooth and well mixed. Fold in cool whip until completely incorporated. Put filling into pie crust and let chill in refrigerator.

This is a simple but delicious treat. A drizzle of melted chocolate on the top will dress it up and make it even more delectable. Should be stored in the refrigerator.

Enjoy!

 

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

7 responses to “The Heart(h) of the Home

  1. christa

    April 19, 2012 at 11:42 am

    I think I am going to have to make that for my husband 🙂 Thanks for the recipe!!

     
  2. divinemslulu

    April 19, 2012 at 11:53 am

    Beautiful post Michelle! I love your primitives and spirit, and that recipe sounds delish. I’ll have to try it, my family will eat anything peanut butter related!

     
  3. shelbyseb

    April 19, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    This is a great post!!!! And I am gonna have to try this recipe. YUM!!!

     
  4. sophieshats

    April 19, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    Yummmm.

     
  5. Red

    April 19, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    Wonderful Post Michelle.. and a great recipe… Thanks for both ♥

     
  6. bagsbyhags

    April 19, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    Wonderful Post!♥

     
  7. P.S. I Love Soap Co.

    April 22, 2012 at 5:39 am

    Boy, my mouth is watering….Can’t wait to try:)

     

Leave a Reply

 
