RSS

Keeping Up The Faith

20 Apr

As with any business or large project, goals are a necessary tool in ultimately realizing success. They guide us along the way and help to measure our progress. As a small business owner, I have been reflecting on what main goal I would like to achieve for my primitive business. Yes, we all want to be successful and this often means having a lot of sales. But the ulitmate goal should really be our vision of how we want our business to be. For my personal goal, I envision having a business selling primitives where I have a steady level of sales and a good customers base. More importantly, though, would be to have these things while having more time to devote to creating my products and less time on promoting and marketing. In setting my goal, I am personally giving myself one year to realize this success and invite you, dear reader, along for the ride…

So how am I going to accomplish this? Well, this is where setting smaller goals comes into play…To begin, if you want a good customer base and a good amount of sales, you just have to roll up your sleeves and work at laying the groundwork. You can’t just sit on Etsy doing nothing and expect the sales to roll in. It would be great if that happened but let’s face it, this is the real world we’re talking about. For me personally, I feel limited to an extent on Etsy and would like to broaden my horizons by utilizing several different markets. In addition to selling on Etsy, I would like to create my own website, do more craft fairs to get my products out there, and find a few brick and mortar shops to sell my products at. By working at these things over the next 6 months, I hope to build up my customer base and sales.

Another aspect involved in this whole scheme of things is inventory. For me this has really been a challenge. Made on a small scale and consuming a lot of time, my prim fabric pieces and woodcrafts involve a lot of work. They generally require several steps of painting, drying, and staining and it is not something that can be rushed. Because of this, I find it challenging to keep my inventory up let alone try new designs and patterns to add to my shop. Another goal of mine is to build up my inventory. After all, I need something to sell to this great customer base I envision! I know it is not practical to say that I will just spend more time on getting more pieces done. If I want to grow, I need to supplement the pieces in my inventory with items that are easier to make in larger amounts. In keeping with my primitive theme, I would love to try my hand at making soap and things like hand scrubs for gardeners. I am also thinking of adding some primitive supplies and vintage items to my shop. Another option yet would be to tap into my expansive collection of time-tested recipes. By giving myself a 3 month timeline, I believe that these goals are very obtainable.

Now that the other bases are covered, what to do about promotion? The web is an amazing tool for getting your name out there but the problem is how to do that while still having time to devote to creating your products…This involves learning to use the various online tools effectively so that the time you do spend promoting gets you somewhere instead of clicking all day with no results. I hope to achieve this over the next month by being a member of the Handmade Circle Bootcamp. I hope that under the amazing tutelage of Debbie Nowicki I will learn to do this.

And lastly, I have one final goal. To some people it might not be a big deal. To a pessimist like me, it means everything and without achieving this goal nothing else will ever be achieved. And that is believing in myself, believing that I can accomplish anything I set out to do and put my heart and soul into, and KEEPING UP THE FAITH. And today I am keeping that goal, because I will succeed. And you can too…

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Keeping Up The Faith

  1. divinemslulu

    April 21, 2012 at 1:08 am

    What a great post! I need to work on my “Keep the faith” issues and you are so right on, anyone can succeed so long as they never give up trying to!

     

Leave a Reply

 
