RSS

Baked Watermelon

21 Apr

Primitive watermelon wedge bowl fillers that is! And here you thought you’d be seeing a new recipe you’d never heard of…

Today I am creating some prim bowl fillers that are wonderful for the summer season. Few things are as symbolic of summer as juicy, red, ripe watermelon…I would like to invite you into my kitchen to show you some of the process of creating painted bowl fillers.

Before I begin the process I  would like to mention that I am basing this creation on a wonderful pattern by Trudy Honeycutt of Crows in the Attic Primitives. While I do some creations where I create my own design, I often rely on patterns of other very talented people. It is of utmost importance that when you buy a person’s pattern you must read the fine print to make sure they will allow you to sell the finished product from their pattern, and if so, also if you can sell the items online. When you make products from their pattern to sell you should always state that the item is based on so and so’s pattern. The wonderful people who make and sell their patterns put their heart and soul into it and it is just the right and legal thing to do…When you buy a person’s pattern, you are also not allowed to copy or share the pattern with anyone. Keeping with this, I am going to show you some of the basic principles of what I am doing and these are common when making a lot of prim items. If you’d like to make these please be sure to buy the pattern for them:)

The items shown above are common in making many prim bowl fillers. They are often sewn out of unbleached muslin and then stuffed. A grunging mixture is brushed onto them, sometimes before and sometimes after being painted. In this case I am doing it before. Consisting of coffee, vanilla, and cinnamon, this grunging solution is a staple in creating prims. Sometimes the items are just stained with this mixture to give an aged appearance and no paint is applied. Between each coat of grunging mixture and/or paint the bowl fillers have to dry completely. Although this takes quite a while, they can be dried outside on warm, sunny days. I oven dry them in a very low oven. This is much faster but they have to be watched very carefully!

In the above photo, the wedges have been lightly brushed with the grunging mixture and were completely dried in the oven. I am now painting on the red portion. I do this with a mixture made of paint thinned down with some of the grunging mixture. Now back into the oven to dry completely before the next coat!

And this photo shows the last color being applied, the green outer portion of the rind. When these are dry I will then see how they look. I might need to touch up some of the colors or may want to put another coat of grunging mixture over them…After that I will detail them by painting on the seeds. Sometimes prim pieces are finished by lightly sanding them with real fine sandpaper to give a worn appearance. I may do this as well.

As you can see this takes quite a while because of all the drying periods but it is a lot of fun! I think they are going to be adorable and hope to get them listed in my Etsy shop tomorrow. Would love to have you stop by to see the finished product!

http://www.etsy.com/shop/MondaysChildPrims

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Baked Watermelon

  1. divinemslulu

    April 21, 2012 at 3:55 pm

    How darling! I think that would look so perfect as a centerpiece for a bar b que! It’s the season…well here in sunny Florida it is! Thanks for sharing 🙂

     
  2. P.S. I Love Soap Co.

    April 21, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    Hey, that’s pretty neat! I just might hav eto try that one day.

     
  3. Red

    April 21, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    OMW! That is such a neat idea.. I am so going to do this too… Thanks so much Michelle.. LOVE!

     
  4. bagsbyhags

    April 21, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    Awesome! Love, Love, Love!

     

Leave a Reply

 
