RSS

Rose’s Recipe

25 Apr

The beautiful lady in the above photo was named Rose and she was my great-grandmother. She was one of the sweetest people to ever live and I was blessed to have her in my life until I was 13. Having only one brother, she was from a small family. She in turn only had a daughter, the mother of my father, who was also an only child. Because of the smallness of our family over the generations, I was fortunate enough to inherit several items that were passed down. Among these treasures were some of Rose’s kitchen implements and her hand-written recipe book. The old wooden bowl that I use in my shop photos belonged to her and I use her old wooden rolling pin when rolling out my pie crust. She loved to bake and her book is filled with “receipts” for all kinds of delicious pies, cakes, and cookies. I’d like to share with you her recipe for Peanut Butter Cookies. They are delicious yet easy to make and I have been baking them for over 20 years.

PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES

1 c. shortening (or 1/2 lard and 1/2 butter)

1 c. brown sugar

1 c. white sugar

1 c. peanut butter

2 eggs

3 c. flour

1-1/2 t. baking soda

1 t. vanilla

dash of salt

Mix ingredients as listed. Roll in small balls and flatten with a fork.

 

This recipe is given verbatim in Rose’s words. Like many old recipes, just the ingredients and basic directions are given. It was assumed that the cook already knew the basics. When making this recipe, I find it easiest to mix the dough thoroughly with a stand mixer or hand mixer. I roll the dough into approximately 1″ balls and roll them in white sugar. I then place them on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake them at about 375 degrees for 8 – 10 minutes. Because ovens and cookie sheets vary this is just approximate. Just keep an eye on the cookies so that the bottoms do not brown too fast. The cookies should be light golden brown and lightly browned on the bottom.

Hope you enjoy them!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Rose’s Recipe

  1. P.S. I Love Soap Co.

    April 25, 2012 at 10:41 am

    Such a beautiful story!!!! Can’t wait to try this cookie recipe — I’m a sucker for a good peanut butter cookie.YUM:)

     
  2. bagsbyhags

    April 25, 2012 at 10:49 am

    Lovely tribute and the cookies sound yummy!

     
  3. divinemslulu

    April 25, 2012 at 11:16 am

    What a great way to have your great grandma’s memory live on and on! Loved this one, thanks for sharing the back story and the yummy recipe!

     
  4. red weaver

    April 25, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    Kinda’ brings a tear to your eye’s.. what a wonderful touching story.. ♥ Made my heart smile as I know it certainly did yours as you were writing this… ♥

     

Leave a Reply

 
