RSS

Primitive Nooks And Crannies

26 Apr

The ultimate goal of any business is to sell their product or service. An important part of doing this requires marketing that product or service to the group of people most likely to buy that product or service. It means finding the niche that your product or service falls into and promoting and making connections within that niche.

Today with all of the possibilities available on the internet, the sky is the limit in the ways you can promote your business and find your niche. In the broadest sense, you can do web searches to find other people, shops, groups, and organisations that deal with your particular type of product. You can also connect with all of the social media such as Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest, to name just a few. As you look further and further into these like-minded groups, you will find even more links, shops, people, and groups.

For me personally, my products generally fall into the niche of Primitives. While I try to have at least a few items in my shop that will appeal to a broad spectrum of people, most of my items are geared toward the Primitive market. Well, what are primitives? Every person who is asked this question will give a different answer. Generally speaking, primitives are items that are reminiscent of yesteryear and of a simpler, more peaceful time. They often include items that are vintage or have been made to look aged. There are often common themes within primitives such as crows, watermelons, sheep, stars, bee skeps, and salt box houses. Primitive decor can also include Early American decor. Think of a weathered 18th century New England house and how it would be decorated. As with many types of products, primitives have a main niche, but also a subset of “nooks and crannies” that they fall into.

Part of my business strategy has been to research primitive shops and groups to see what everyone is selling and what they are doing. When I started out, even before joining Etsy, I did a lot of looking around the web. I kept coming across several shops and groups that I really admired and that inspired me. After I joined Etsy I discovered that some of these shops and groups were on Etsy as well. I saw that there was one particular team that I really admired and I saw that it was a juried team. You had to apply to be accepted. Well, I applied with fingers crossed. I thought to myself, how would I, a really new kid on the block, get in with these super talented artists? Well they accepted me right away and I am so honored to be among them. The moment that I saw that I was accepted was more exciting to me than my first Etsy sale! This group is the Old Farmhouse Gathering and here is the link to their blog if you’d like to check it out…They also have a link to their cooking blog which has lots of great recipes!

http://oldfarmhousegathering.blogspot.com/

 

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Primitive Nooks And Crannies

  1. sophieshats

    April 26, 2012 at 10:14 am

    Nice article. Very true.

     
  2. divinemslulu

    April 26, 2012 at 11:22 am

    Great post, I’m glad you met a great team when you started on Etsy. It really makes being the new kid feel a lot less intimidating when you have that support system!

     
  3. P.S. I Love Soap Co.

    April 26, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    Great post….Sometimes marketing feels like a job in itself:)

     
  4. Brenda

    April 26, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    Your primitives are wonderful! OFG is a great team to be a part of. You will fit in well with their talented artists.

     
    • mondayschildprims

      April 26, 2012 at 5:24 pm

      Thank you so much Brenda! And I love the OFG…such a wonderful group!

       

Leave a Reply

 
