RSS

Some Favorite Pins

27 Apr

As we near the end of April, my thoughts are increasingly turning to gardening. Here in Michigan I generally plant my vegetable garden and annuals in mid-May. Usually the danger of frost has passed by then. As an avid gardener, I make use of lots of shrubs, bulbs, and perrennials in my flower beds. As they have filled in over the years the need for adding annuals to them has lessened. However, I still enjoy doing a few containers of annuals every year to place on my porches to add a pretty touch.

I am always challenged every year as to how I should do my containers. I always like new ideas and trying things a litlle different. Some of my favorite color combinations are purples with pinks. I found and pinned the above photo. I think it is just gorgeous and love the different heights, colors, and textures. This might just be the inspiration I need for my containers this year…But then again, I found the lovely photo below. I love the white blooms with all of the green. It would really add interest to a shadier spot!

As I am becoming more familiar with Pinterest, I am growing to love it more and more. As I browse the web and find all kinds of lovely ideas and products, I can create beautiful boards to come back to. While I do a lot of pinning on boards to help promote shops and products on Etsy, I am also trying to make more boards that reflect who I am and my personal style.

And now that spring is in bloom, it is also time to start thinking about barbeques. I also pinned this recipe and can’t wait to try it…Happy Friday everyone!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Some Favorite Pins

  1. divinemslulu

    April 27, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    Great post, and pretty flowers! I love gardening too! I stick to mostly veggies and herbs instead of flowers though.

     
  2. P.S. I Love Soap Co.

    April 27, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    Love your post! I love gardening too…Except sometimes I garden indoors better than I do outdoors…My husband calls me a plant hoarder but then the weather gets warmer and a lot of my Plants love the outdoors……he says it’s naked inside…Can never win — lol:)

     
  3. bagsbyhags

    April 27, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    Beautiful flowers and a yummy recipe to boot! Great Job!

     
  4. red weaver

    April 27, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    Fabulous post… love it! Use to spend summers with my grandparents when I was a youngster… Grandpa had one dark green thumb… from veggies to flowers, he was amazing… I love to garden because of him… ♥

     
  5. domesticateddilettante

    April 27, 2012 at 3:28 pm

    I pinned the same recipe; I really should try it on my family! I planted our summer containers this morning – a half-dozen on our sun-drenched deck and several more on our deep shady porch that wraps around the front half of our home. In my landscape beds, I lean toward the more monochromatic palettes of pinks/blues/lavenders, but in my containers, I go for shock value with lots of chartreuse, dark purple/black, and hot fuchsia combos. They’re only around for five or six months, so I try to make them bold and summery. Maybe some day I’ll go for a more sophisticated color scheme with them 🙂

     
    • mondayschildprims

      April 27, 2012 at 4:38 pm

      Wow! Your containers sound awesome! Great summery color combos!

       
      • domesticateddilettante

        April 27, 2012 at 4:41 pm

        Thanks! I’m a fairly conservative person in many ways, but I love letting my “hair down” when it comes to my containers 🙂 Hope you have an awesome growing season!

         
  6. mondayschildprims

    April 27, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    Hope you have a great season too:) And thanks for reading my post! I checked out your blog too and you have a great recipe collection!

     

Leave a Reply

 
