RSS

All About Me

28 Apr

 

No, contrary to how the title sounds, this post isn’t going to be about my profile. I am going to use those words in a different context. In this day and age, everyone is always busy with on-going to-do lists that never end. My life is no exception. While I am blessed to be a housewife, doing my daily chores, babysitting my nieces and nephews, and creating products for my Etsy shop as well as running it seem to keep me busy non-stop. While I love and enjoy doing all of those things, sometimes I need to let go and let things be all about me…

While I am a perfectionist and my own worst task-master, I do have to occasionally let myself stop and spend some time doing something for myself that I truly enjoy. Today feels like one of those days! Among my varied interests and hobbies, I have one true passion that I do for the enjoyment of it and that is genealogy and tracing family trees. Crazy as it sounds, I look forward to spending an afternoon browsing online scanned images of 300 year old church record books the way that some women eagerly anticipate a trip to the spa…

Making millions of records accessible, the internet has allowed family history research to grow by leaps and bounds. I have been able to trace 3/4 of my ancestors back to Germany. I found one of my family lines in church record books from the late 1700’s and found what town they were from. I have also been doing my husband’s tree for over a year and at first he didn’t think I would find anything. Finding a John Smith from Kentucky is like finding a needle in a haystack. Well, his family tree is turning out to be large and quite impressive. I have been able to trace through his mother’s line that he is descended from dozens of the first settlers of Quebec in the early 1600’s. Some of these ancestors were also some of the first residents of Detroit and the first settlers of Monroe, MI. His family tree branches on his father’s side are no less impressive. Several of his family lines lead to ancestors who migrated to Kentucky from Maryland in the late 1700’s and were some of the state’s first settlers. Some of them were from prestigious families and there is at least one person who I believe is to be a patriot of the Revolutionary War.

I am excited at the thought of digging into the past this afternoon. If you have any interest in finding out about your family history, the best place to start is by asking older family members questions about your family. Census records and state birth, marriage, and death records are also good starting points. One of the best websites of online collections is familysearch.org and surprisingly, it is free. Ancestry.com is also very good but usually requires a monthly fee. You will be amazed at what you can find…

Hope everyone has a happy Saturday!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “All About Me

  1. bagsbyhags

    April 28, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    What a wonderful and exciting thing to do! I have been wanting to do this myself! Enjoy!!!!

     
  2. divinemslulu

    April 28, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    Oh that sounds so cool. I am so curious about my family tree, I should sit down and really look up our history one day!

     
  3. red weaver

    April 28, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    WOW, what a fantastic idea Michelle! Have a wonderous time with it… I’d be scared to look my family up… I’d never get anything… It is HUUUUGE, not big or large… but HUUUUUGE!! Have a wonderful day! ♥

     
  4. P.S. I Love Soap Co.

    April 28, 2012 at 3:49 pm

    I’ve always wanted to do that. But, I would never know where to start. It sounds like a lot of fun:) Have a Great day and weekend!

     

Leave a Reply

 
