RSS

My Retreat

29 Apr

Happy Sunday! Welcome to my little backyard retreat smack dab in the middle of suburbia! It is a pretty spring day so I decided to go outside and take some photos. Taking photos of plants and beds throughout the seasons is a wonderful idea for gardeners. Not only does it help you remember what you planted where, it also gives you an idea of how plants look at different times in the growing season. This can be really helpful in determining where to place new plants or what sections might be devoid of flowers at given times.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The above photos are shots that I took from my patio. To the left, my bed runs down along the wooden privacy fence and contains a small pond, shrubs, and perrenials. The bed slowly curves out and then back in to showcase a lilac tree. As the bed runs along the back fence, it contains plants that will contain gorgeous mid-summer blooms. A bird bath is placed in the bed among Purple Coneflowers, Black-eyed Susans, and Campanula Cherry Bells. The bed curves and sweeps to the right and continues along down the side of the garage/woodshop. Behind the garage is a shed and my vegetable bed. A Dwarf Burning Bush and a Spiraea help act as a backdrop to keep the vegetable plot separate from the flower bed.

All gardens need lots of love and care in the spring and mine is no exception. The unnaturally warm weather early in the season this year has caused my hostas and perennials to get big fast. I have a lot of work ahead of me but today I decided to tackle a small corner in the back where the irises are in bloom.

As you can see in the above photos, this little corner needs some thinning and the hostas need to be divided. I have Physostegia planted around the Iris. They bloom in late summer until frost and add much needed color to the late-season garden. They tend to multiply quickly and need a good thinning every year. The hostas I have planted here are variegated and remain small. They do well in partly sunny areas and add a nice pop of color througout the whole season.

Well, the hostas have been divided and replanted and the Physostegia thinned. The majestic Iris look so much prettier with the area around them cleaned up. And no project is ever complete without giving credit to the person in charge… Well, here’s the head honcho, my little Peanut girl. She is laying in the shade of the grill making sure I am doing things right, and patiently waiting for me to light the grill!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “My Retreat

  1. divinemslulu

    April 29, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    How cool! You had the same idea as I did today, go outside and enjoy the sunshine and breeze with the pup! 🙂

     
  2. red weaver

    April 29, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    Ahh, great back yard… Love your flower beds and your little guy is adorable… :O)

     
  3. bagsbyhags

    April 29, 2012 at 3:20 pm

    Beautiful Back yard!

     

Leave a Reply

 
