RSS

Making Mud Pies

02 May

Happy Wednesday! Doesn’t this recipe look good? Thinking I am going to try making it soon…Nothing like a little bit of chocolate yumminess to help get you through the rest of the week!

Well, today my little nephew Cameron is coming to visit. The weather is supposed to be quite warm with intermittent rain showers. Since my little helper loves to be outdoors, I’m thinking we might go tackle so more projects in the backyard today…Still have lots of hostas to divide:

And I still need to thin out the Campanula Cherry Bells that I have growing around the bird bath:

I firmly believe that it is never to early to instill the love of gardening in children. By learning to grow their own vegetables, they will grow up with more respect for the environment and a sense of self-sufficiency. And, it is a lot of fun to boot! I hope to spend some time this summer teaching my nieces and nephews more about gardening, and on rainy days like today, maybe even making some mud pies…

Have a wonderful day!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Making Mud Pies

  1. divinemslulu

    May 2, 2012 at 11:16 am

    Yum! I’ll take the first type of mudpie you mentioned, as much as I love to be earthy and organic I think I’ll skip the real mud! Enjoy your family time 🙂

     
  2. domesticateddilettante

    May 2, 2012 at 11:30 am

    I was surprised (but not disappointed) when I realized it was a play on words. That mudpie looks much more delicious, although making mudpies with a kid or grandkid is pretty fabulous, too!

     
  3. bagsbyhags

    May 2, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    That mud pie looks great! And your yard is just beautiful!

     
  4. DebBee

    May 2, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    Showing children how to plant and grow is so important! Sadly, I think it is lost in many current generations…Teach on!

     
  5. P.S. I Love Soap Co.

    May 2, 2012 at 3:22 pm

    Whew! That looks so delicious! Now, I need something sweet! and I agree w/ you and gardening start them young.

     

Leave a Reply

 
