RSS

Making Wood Work

04 May

TGIF! Whew, it’s been a long week…Today I worked on some of my wood projects out in the shop (aka our garage) and wanted to invite you in to see what I have going on…

It is looking a little dusty and messy at the moment but that is how my husband keeps it. Since he is nice enough to share with me I kind of just leave it like that for him! To make the best use of my time and space, I usually have more than one project going on in various stages. Using a couple of projects, I will kind of walk you through the process…I am starting on a patriotic Uncle Sam and am finishing my primitive sheep, both patterns by Beein’ Creative With Mis.

The first thing I do is trace out a pattern onto the piece of wood I am going to use. In the photo below I am getting ready to saw out the pieces on the band saw. Some people like to use scroll saws but I like our trusty old band saw. I am sawing out what I call accessory pieces. They are usually attached to the main item and offer more detail to the piece.

After the pieces are sawn out, I give them a preliminary sanding on a stationary sander using the spindle. This takes the really rough edges off.

 

I then sand the pieces by hand with a sponge sander until they are smooth. Wiping them off with tack cloth removes all the dust and gets them ready for painting…Here I have applied a coat of paint to the accessory pieces.

After these are dry, I will sand around the edges to give them a slightly worn appearance. They will then get a light coat of stain on all surfaces. In the photo below you can see the various components of my sheep, which are ready to be assembled. The watermelon are something else I’ve been working on too.

To assemble my pieces I first affix the accessory pieces onto the main body with a little bit of hot glue. I then use brad nails to make sure the pieces stay firmly in place. The brad nailer is attached to a large air compressor.

After this step, the only thing left to do is add some Spanish moss. And here is a prim sheep, ready for listing…

 http://www.etsy.com/listing/90078793/primitive-sheep-primitive-blessings

Thanks so much for stopping by the shop today! Have a great weekend!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Making Wood Work

  1. P.S. I Love Soap Co.

    May 4, 2012 at 1:52 pm

    How cute! Have a Great weekend:)

     
  2. shelbyseb

    May 4, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    Great post! You are more brave than I! I don’t go near anything with a blade and/or a motor…I’m way to accident prone:)

     
  3. thisartofmine

    May 4, 2012 at 3:35 pm

    I so enjoyed reading this! I would love to learn woodworking. I’m a mean miterer for baseboards and such. Would love to have a band saw. You must have a lot of fun making these. Thanks for sharing!

     
    • mondayschildprims

      May 4, 2012 at 3:43 pm

      So glad you enjoyed it Lucinda:) It is very fun and you should try it…I never thought it would be something I could do. And thanks for reading:)

       
  4. bagsbyhags

    May 4, 2012 at 5:58 pm

    Wow! Lots of work involved, thank you for showing us your workshop, I really love all your creations!

     
  5. divinemslulu

    May 5, 2012 at 8:40 am

    I think it’s so cool you’re out in the workshop with your hubby making such awesome creations. I’d be terrified to use such big tools! Your sheep always turn out perfect – so though you made it sound easy I know you’re just very skilled. 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
