RSS

Sowing Seeds

06 May

Hello and Happy Sunday! It’s a beautiful day here in Michigan–perfect for checking some things off of my gardening to-do list. My beautiful purple iris have already finished blooming so I cleaned them up a bit. Also trimmed up my Dwarf Burning Bush–much easier in spring before it grows out of control! I am also getting my vegetable bed ready. I am cleaning the weeds out that have been popping up. We need to add some compost and additives this week and get it rototilled. I will be planting my vegetables next weekend. I always do this on Mother’s Day weekend. While a lot of people around here think it is a tad bit early, my beloved late grandma always planted then and I have been too for almost 25 years now. I am happy to say I’ve never lost a plant yet due to late frosts or freezes.

And speaking of planting, I am gonna move on to another subject…As I have previously mentioned, I am very honored to be in the HMC Team’s Bootcamp as one of the initial trainees. It was decided that tomorrow is our final day. Debbie Nowicki has been an exceptional leader and I can never thank her enough for all of her hard work and guidance. While Debbie is an extraordinary bee-keeper and gardener by her own right, she has also sown seeds in each of us trainees, seeds of believing in ourselves and our dreams for our businesses. She has also given us the tools we need to cultivate and nurture them, all the things that we need to grow our dreams into realities.

So I am sending a huge hug to Debbie and want to say THANK YOU! Love you lady!

And I have to tell you all, too, that I am excited to be planting some seeds from Debbies’ lovely shop for pie pumpkins…Here is the link for them for you to check out. You will love her shop!

http://www.etsy.com/listing/93082385/flower-seeds-pumpkin-pie-garden-seeds

Have a great day!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Sowing Seeds

  1. bagsbyhags

    May 6, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    You have such a green thumb! Beautiful post and great tribute to Debbie she is awesome!

     
  2. divinemslulu

    May 6, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    What a lovely post and I couldn’t agree more. I’m so glad that we all got to go through the first boot camp together, I don’t think I could have had more understand and sweet teamies ❤ You gals are just the absolute best! I am so very envious of your green thumb… mine is teal. Half of my stuff survives and thrives and some don't even bloom. Live and learn! I still need to go scamper out back and plant my coneflower seeds from lovely Debbie! Thanks for the reminder

     
  3. The Pretty Do-Good (@ThePrettyDoGood)

    May 6, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    absolutely wonderful!

    and i ♥ debbie too!! 🙂

     
  4. Red Weaver

    May 6, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    It’s been exceptional to be a part of boot camp… I love all you ladies to pieces… :O) Gonna be strange after tomorrow isn’t it…?? ♥♥♥ You have an amazing green thumb my girl… ♥♥

     
  5. Laura Rhodes

    May 6, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    Thanks for stopping by and the compliment. I get lots of ideas from the internet and I thought it would go good with the bakery theme where I have lots of my stuff at at a bakery in town. However, selling has been slow with my bakery themed items. Some people on the net really have a following for selling their stuff, but I’m just a hit and miss person. At least they make great gifts! Happy gardening! We are planting now too! Can’t wait for the harvest! God Bless you! Laura R.

     

Leave a Reply

 
