RSS

Wrapping It Up

25 Jul

Cover Photo

As the Handmade Circle Team’s Christmas in July promotion in nearing its end, today we are going to talk about wrapping gifts. Sevaral team members kindly shared their thoughts and stories about wrapping gifts…

JoAnn of isewmuchtime says:

When I was in college I had to give a demonstration speech. I demonstrated how to wrap Christmas presents three different ways. I was able to gift wrap and talk through my demonstration showing how to use different type of gift bags, wrapping just the top of the package, and wrapping the entire package. I earned an “A” and I still love to gift wrap.  I always like to put a little Christmas ornament on the package. It’s ashame that you put all your hard work into wrapping, only to have the kids tear it off in less than a minute! And, how about those after Christmas sales getting your wrapping for half price or less! Don’t you just love it! Merry Christmas!

Winter Cardinals Tablerunnerhttp://www.etsy.com/listing/91095057/winter-cardinals-tablerunner

And Amy Fowler of Lucary tells us “my hubby makes my sister wrap my presents”…

Red, Green, White Polka Dotted Hair Bowhttp://www.etsy.com/listing/105021212/red-green-white-polka-dotted-hair-bow

Troy Stengel of California Mermaid relates:

I’ll never forget the presents my father wrapped for me when I was a kid! I have no idea why he didn’t use Scotch tape – it’s like he didn’t know it existed! Instead, he would wrap my presents in garish seasonally-inappropriate wrap and affix everything with black electrical tape or Band-aids!

Swarovski Antique Pink 8mm Faceted Round Crystal Bead Matinee Length Necklace with Silver Toggle Clasphttp://www.etsy.com/listing/95310556/swarovski-antique-pink-8mm-faceted-round

Renee Lockhart of Movable Art tells us:

WHEN I WOULD WRAP FOR MY BABY SISTER, ONE YEAR IT WAS AN INTERACTIVE LEARNING TOY BUT IT WAS AWKWARD TO WRAP, SO I LEFT THE BIG ROUND NOSE AND BLINKING EYES OUT OF THE WRAPPING SO THAT WAS THE FIRST THING SHE SAW CHRISTMAS MORNING. IT MAKES THEM CURIOUS ABOUT SEEING A TEDDY’S LEG OR A TAIL AND TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT THE TOY IS. ANOTHER THING i WOULD DO WAS WRAP SOME GIFTS LIKE CALENDERS OR SOCKS WAS I WOULD WRAP THEN UP LIKE A JELLY ROLL OR A CHRISTMAS CRACKER SHAPE. THEN YOU CAN GIVE THE JELLY ROLL AND THE PERSON RECEIVING CAN PULL IT WITH YOU AND THE MIDDLE BREAKS OPEN!! HAHA! AND IF YOU BUY STORE CHRISTMAS CRACKERS YOU CAN SNEAKILY SLIP A LITTLE BILL  MONEY INSIDE THEM… WOW WHAT A SURPRISE WHEN THEIR CRACKER GOES OFF! DON’T OVERLOOK WRAPPING AN AWKWARD GIFT IN A LARGE PIECE OF PRETTY FABRIC OR A SCARF EITHER. BOWS AND FLOWERS ARE EASY TO MAKE OUT OF STIFF PAPER OR CELLOPHANE, AND PAPER CAN BE SCENTED. JUST FOLD THEM BACK AND FORTH IN AN ACCORDION SHAPE AND TIE THE MIDDLE WITH STRING TO TIE IT ON THE PRESENT.

MovableArt / Blue Pearl Necklace Blue Pearl Bracelet Royal Sapphire, Navy Blue Freshwater Pearlshttp://www.etsy.com/listing/75963717/movableart-blue-pearl-necklace-blue

Shannon Rose of A Moment in Paradise tells us:

I’m horrible at wrapping 🙂  I love the gift bags, much easier for me to handle!

MADE TO ORDER Bag of  Winter White Snowflake Candle Tartshttp://www.etsy.com/listing/90069977/made-to-order-bag-of-winter-white

Dora Hishmeh Smyka’s husband wraps gifts just like my husband:

my gift wrap story is that my husband thinks giving me my gift in the bag it came in with the receipt is sweet .

Brown ,Tan and Cream ,Wooden, Beaded ,ooak Necklace- etsy treasuryhttp://www.etsy.com/listing/96761293/brown-tan-and-cream-wooden-beaded-ooak

Sarah Stettler of Star Jewels shares a special memory with us:

My Dad was a graphic artist, and would always create the most amazing and beautiful gift wrap packages, right down to constructing a box so I couldn’t guess what it was. I particularly remember this triangle box I had been puzzling over, turns out it was record albums (this was back when we used vinyl), he had constructed a triangle box and the records were on one side…turning an “obvious” gift into something I could never guess!

Charoite necklace, purple gemstone necklace with pearls, vintage gold chain, charoite focal pendanthttp://www.etsy.com/listing/86312327/charoite-necklace-purple-gemstone

Marsha J. Bourquin of Bags by Hags tells us:

Of course if you know me then you know my whole house is Western, one year I saved paper sacks, turned them inside out wrapped the presents then used twine/jute rope as the ribbon.  Loved how they looked under my tree. But if I buy paper to wrap in, I always buy the Santa printed one. But Handmade/Homemade is the very best!

Potato Bag Pot Holder Handle Set - Christmas Snowman- Let It Snowhttp://www.etsy.com/listing/103235609/potato-bag-pot-holder-handle-set

And Jayne Willis of Twiggy and Opal shares:

Gift Wrapping!  I don’t know how this started or even when!  My gifts from my daughter are always wrapped in newspaper!  She does pick the right stories to go on the front!  Kinda weird, but its a tradition with her for us!

Reusable Gift Bag, Fabric Gift Bag, Christmas Gift Baghttp://www.etsy.com/listing/103274808/reusable-gift-bag-fabric-gift-bag

There are only a few days left to save 10 to 35% off before we wrap up the sale! Just follow this link to see all of the lovely participating shops to get a head start on your holiday shopping…

http://bagsbyhags.blogspot.com/p/hmc-christmas-in-july.html

And don’t forget about the greatest gift of all, wrapped in swaddling clothes and lying in a manger. Because there is no CHRISTmas without Christ…May the love, peace, and serenity of the season remain in your hearts all throughout the year:)

 
18 Comments

Posted by on July 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

18 responses to “Wrapping It Up

  1. P.S. I Love Soap Co.

    July 25, 2012 at 9:34 am

    Troy and the band-aids was the Best:)

     
  2. Karalee Goff Gross

    July 25, 2012 at 9:37 am

    Wonderful job Michelle! I so enjoyed reading everyone’s stories & i loved the ending best of all! ❤
    <

     
    • mondayschildprims

      July 25, 2012 at 9:48 am

      Thank you so much Karalee:)

       
    • Marie Fichtner

      July 25, 2012 at 3:36 pm

      Karalee, you are absolutely right, wonderful stories, but the ending was the best!

       
      • mondayschildprims

        July 25, 2012 at 3:38 pm

        Glad you thought so Marie:) I agree too! Thanks for reading:)

         
  3. Troy Stengel

    July 25, 2012 at 11:16 am

    Great post, Michelle – Love the stories!

     
    • mondayschildprims

      July 25, 2012 at 12:28 pm

      Thank you Troy:) And thank you so much for sharing for it…

       
  4. Kathy Porter Koontz

    July 25, 2012 at 12:26 pm

    I can relate to Jayne’s story. When I was a kid, I would save the Sunday comics, because they were colorful, to wrap presents in. But band aids and electrical tape? Funny!

     
    • mondayschildprims

      July 25, 2012 at 12:29 pm

      My grandma used to wrap my presents in the comics too:)

       
  5. bagsbyhags

    July 25, 2012 at 12:48 pm

    I loved reading everyone’s traditions, great job on the post!

     
    • mondayschildprims

      July 25, 2012 at 12:58 pm

      Thank you Marsha:) I loved your idea of paper sacks and jute for wrapping gifts–very natural and prim!

       
  6. The Crafty Panda Girl (Melissa)

    July 25, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    Great post! Thanks to everyone for sharing.

     
  7. Shannon

    July 25, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    Wonderful job, fun read!

     
  8. abundantearthworks

    July 25, 2012 at 4:58 pm

    Love this post, Great job 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
