RSS

For The Love Of Fabric

28 Feb

I have to be honest….I love fabric. Always have, always will. Even as a child, one of my favorite things to do was to go to the fabric store with my mom. (Remember those good old days when there were still fabric stores like Minnesota Fabrics?) While other kids were watching cartoons or outside playing, I’d be with mom looking with wonder at all of the fabrics, buttons, and notions. Maybe picking out the fabric for that new Easter dress mom was making for me….She has been and still remains my biggest teacher and inspiration for all things sewing.

And now that I am getting my new website up and running, I am so excited to be able to offer some fabrics for sale. Since they just naturally are part and parcel of primitives, I just love homespun fabrics. I noticed that they are often harder to find in some areas or you have to buy it in larger quantities. I am hoping that by offering it in smaller assorted bundles of quarter yards at a reasonale price, other crafters can get a good assortment for their projects at a nice price. The hard part for me is to not use all the fabric myself:)

Here are some of the fabrics I have recently added…

blue repro fabric 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

fabric bundles 014

 

fabric bundles 037

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can view these fabrics and more in my Supplies section here:

http://www.mondayschildprimitives.com/store/WsDefault.asp?Cat=Supplies&Sub=13&isThumbs=No&Thumbs=

I hope to be adding lots more in the near future…Until next time, peace and blessings to you! Have a wonderful day!

 

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “For The Love Of Fabric

  1. simplethymeprims

    February 28, 2013 at 11:27 am

    I do remember the trips to the SO-FRO and even Ben Franklin stores. I always loved looking through the pattern books too. Thanks for jogging my memories this morning!

     
  2. mondayschildprims

    February 28, 2013 at 11:33 am

    Glad you enjoyed it! And my, I forgot about those pattern books! What fun!

     
  3. P.S. I Love Soap Co.

    February 28, 2013 at 12:52 pm

    I remember my Mom sewing but I never picked up the talent. She used to make the most awesome Halloween Costumes Ever!

     
  4. mondayschildprims

    February 28, 2013 at 12:57 pm

    Awww that is so cool! My mom’s costumes were awesome too. Such great memories! Now she makes my little nephews stuff sometimes…I have to be honest, my mom tried in vain to teach me to sew for years and years. It took me until my late 30’s to start doing well at it!

     
  5. Candlerock Kim

    March 15, 2013 at 11:00 am

    My Mom and Grandma would crochet these beautiful sea shell afghans just to name one pattern that I know the name of. lol I still have trouble keeping the yarn tension right. My Grandma used to sew but not very much. It was a chore getting her very old machine out and she had limited space in her house so she couldn’t leave her machine out where she had access to it. Now on the other hand I love to sew!!! My son taught me how to thread my machine when he was 16; he took home ec. (to meet girls). After that there was no stopping me… My sister and I made 28 throws for Christmas presents that year and we did it in 13 days… Whew, what work but it was so much fun!!! And the kids loved them; they always asked for more… My man won’t go near a fabric store with me because I am there drooling for hours!
    Sorry for my ramble but your post brought out so many memories!
    Thanks,
    Kim

     
    • mondayschildprims

      March 15, 2013 at 11:09 am

      I’ll bet those throws were beautiful! That is a lot of work in a short time though:) I love sewing too and I am making up for lost time…I was in my late 30’s by the time my mom finally helped me get the hang of it! She is really talented and there is a not a lot that she can’t do with a sewing machine…And yep, my hubby kind of rolls his eyes when we near a fabric or craft store too!

       

Leave a Reply

 
